Becoming Fearless! (No. 1)

I was checking out EverywhereOnce today, which is a wonderful blog about leaving the stagnant life behind and venturing out to explore the world, and the latest post How to Become Fearless really resonated with me.

I’ve been scared of a lot of things in my life. Somewhere along the way, I decided that most of it isn’t worth the effort. It’s not an easy or natural thing, though, and took me quite a while. However, there were some very memorable milestones along the way that stand out brilliantly in my memory. I thought I’d make a series of posts describing the fears I know about and how I have found to deal with them. As my brand new 2012 saying goes …

“I’m sharing a few, more for me than for you … If you value this mess, then I’ve been a success!” – me on a new year day

I just love little quotes. I have so many favorites from other people. I think it’s time to make up some of my own. Ok, so with my inner poet now satisfied … on with this list.

#1 Fear of injury – I’ve never been much afraid of getting hurt. I suppose I’m impulsive, so I really don’t know I’ve done something stupid until afterwards, but if it does occur to me that I might get hurt, of course I’ve felt afraid. I remember I used to have a motorcycle. Riding a motorcycle was the most exhilarating thing I ever did by myself. I thought I was careful, even going 125 mph I was of the opinion that I was doing it the right way.

Then one day, I was riding down a normal street at a normal street speed, about 35 mph or some such, and the car next to me (in the spot I later learned you never let a car be) quickly changed lanes. I went flying over the hood of the car. My bike went flying over the hood of the car. My bike and I flew some great distance down the road where we landed only 2 feet apart.

Then I slid … on the road … at 35 mph. It ripped most of the skin off of my arms, shoulders, and elbows. I also banged my head hard enough to lose consciousness for at least a few seconds. The doctors later had to dig rocks and asphalt out of my skin for a few hours and I had to wear bandages for quite a while. My arms felt warm and painful for a long time and my elbows still have scars on them to this day.

After that experience, I had to find a way to still drive on the road. The thing that stuck in my head is this: It isn’t all up to me. I’m not in control of everything out there. Bad things are going to happen sometimes. Imagining what they are like in some attempt to prevent random accidents is a waste of time. I am determined to let accidents happen without me meddling in their affairs. It’s not my business to try to tell life what it is allowed to throw at me. So I look forward knowing for sure that bad things are going to happen sometimes. This gives me peace of mind.

Upcoming topics:

  • Fear of dying
  • Fear of losing loved one
  • Fear of failure
  • Fear of being old and frail
  • Fear of being suckered
  • Fear of being locked up or confined
  • Fear of being jumped or mugged
  • Fear of not winning
  • Fear of looking or feeling like an idiot
  • Fear of being broke
  • Fear of getting lost
  • Fear of being out of control
  • Fear of not having a drink

I’m not sure right now what other things there are to be afraid of, but I’m sure there are plenty more! Please leave a comment if you have any thoughts!

5 Replies to “Becoming Fearless! (No. 1)”

Leave a Reply

