Creativity Inspired by Sarah!

So I was wandering around the mall listening to music, drinking coffee, getting lotion from the cute, hopeless girl (she has no way of knowing that I only buy stuff at Wal-Mart) at the kiosk, and just generally observing the aftermath of Black Friday in Palmdale. After an hour or so of healthy, brisk walking to my iPod music I thought I’d sit down at one of those wonderful benches they put in the center and check my online stuff.

I checked through the normal Facebook and email stuff and then settled in to look at some of the blogs I follow sporadically. I realized that it is almost the end of the year and Sarah has inspired me this year. The 12 months of creativity has been thrilling to follow and has left me feeling as though I’m missing out.

I want to do a 12 month thing, too! But, alas, I know myself better than that. I’m incessantly forgetful and have the most terrible time keeping on a routine about anything. Witness the date of my last blog post. So I remembered back to yesterday. I was watching a TED talk by Matt Cutts about trying something new for 30 days. The idea seemed infinitely more doable for a forgetful procrastinator such as myself. I looked around on the internet and found another blog with a similar idea.

Some of the ideas were: bike to work, no TV, no caffeine, write a novel. All for 30 days. Now I figure I don’t want to set myself up for failure, so I should start small. Posting an original photo every day on here seems like something I could keep up with. I even have my iPhone with me all the time. It has a nice camera and I can program a reminder for 7pm to make sure I don’t zone out all day (not at all unlikely for me) and forget to take my photo. On top of all that, I like digital photography quite a bit and I’ve been dabbling little by little over the last year.

So this is my new “thing” for the next 30 days. I’m hoping to expand on the idea and eventually get up the the exalted ‘Sarah’ level. The first one here isn’t from today. The weather was nicer today and the 5 photos I took didn’t quite stand out. So I’ll start with this and try to keep it interesting. Maybe next time I can write a novel in 30 days. That sounds fairly ambitious, but people seem to enjoy doing it.

2 Replies to “Creativity Inspired by Sarah!”

  1. Oh my gosh sooo excited about your 30-day project! And so happy that i helped inspire you! I really love this first picture.. its a little bit ominous upon first look, but the longer i look it starts to feel more soothing. It reminds me of that feeling after an afternoon storm – where the sky is still gray but the air is fresher and cooler and everything seems renewed.

    Keep ’em comin! I will be watching! =D

Leave a Reply

